Perspective

Saturday evening (August 1, 2015) I attended the “Teaming up for kids”event where PJ Fleck was the keynote speaker. Not only was this my first time really hearing about him (not a huge football fan lol) but I also didn’t know that my life would be impacted by his words in the way that it was. It was such a spirit filled event & I was blessed to be around Kalamazoo’a finest donors, philanthropists & just all around amazing souls. It really put into perspective for me not only the work I’m doing at the Boys & Girls Club but the work I will do for the rest of my life. I came to Western because the non-profit leadership program really drew me in. I knew I wanted to dedicate my life to giving back to communities around the world. Money is not the goal at all because as long as we are givers I truly believe that God will make sure that all of our needs are met. Even though non-profit work is sometimes draining, the results are not always favorable and the impact is not always tangible, it is a work that must be done by people willing to sacrifice their lives for the betterment of our world. Ultimately we are securing a better future when we give back to youth in any positive way. I am still in awe and so grateful for the opportunity.image

Leave a Reply

